Log In Register a Business Contact Us


As well as the historic City of Durham, this policing area covers 26 small villages, most of them former colliery settlements. The total population for the Durham district is about 90,200 people, with the university adding an extra 12,000 people during term time.

The district has been traditionally split into three main areas: Durham City, Sherburn/Bowburn and Meadowfield/Famwellgate, each covered by a neighbourhood beat team.

Durham City Police Station

New Elvet, Durham, DH1 3AQ

Front counter staffed:8am until 6pm - Monday to Friday
10am until 4pm - Saturday and Sunday.

Population - 11429

Contact Details

Telephone - 101