Log In Register a Business Contact Us

Message for WhatsApp users

Alert message sent 20/05/2021 09:53:00

Information sent on behalf of Durham Constabulary


WhatsApp have changed their group settings which means it includes “everyone” by default which means people that you don’t know can add you to a group without your knowledge.

When I heard about this, I checked my own settings and it showed I was set to "everyone" so I changed it back again to keep myself safe.
 
To keep yourself safe you can change the settings
  • Go into WhatsApp
  • Go to settings 
  • Go into account 
  • Go to privacy 
  • Go to groups 
  • Change the setting from “everyone” to “my contacts”
It is always worthwhile checking your privacy settings regularly on your own devices and if you have kids, check theirs too, or do it together to encourage them to be critical thinkers online.

For further advice on settings or parental controls, visit any of the following sites as they are a great source of information.

Get Safe Online - http://www.getsafeonline.org
Internet Matters - http://www.internetmatters.org
NSPCC's Net Aware - http://www.net-aware.org.uk
Message sent by
Susie Blake (Police , Partnerships Officer, Durham Constabulary)

Message tag words

Back to previous page
Click here to tweet this message to your followers

Discuss this alert message

Please see terms below before using this feature
Please be aware that the facility above is a Facebook service, posting your views will make some of your Facebook information visible to everyone (as with any Facebook activity).

The system administrators (VISAV Limited) monitor the content added. Any misuse or objectionable material should be reported to support@neighbourhoodalert.co.uk.

The views expressed do not represent the views of the system administrators who are VISAV Limited, the Police, Neighbourhood Watch and other Information Provider using this service.